Follow Us & App Download


NDA – National Defence Academy

  /    /  NDA – National Defence Academy

The National Defence Academy (NDA) is the joint defence service training institute of the Indian Armed Forces, where cadets of the three services i.e. the Indian Army, the Indian Navy and the Indian Air Force train together before they go on to respective service academy for further pre-commission training. The NDA is located in Khadakwasla, Pune, Maharashtra. It is the first tri-service academy in the world.

The National Defence Academy is an iconic institution and hallmark of global excellence in the sphere of military education.
NDA trains young minds morally, mentally and physically so that they can survive and excel in any scenario they are put in whether it’s a war or something else.
Recently, a total of 344 cadets have passed out of NDA out of which 238 were from the Army, 26 from the Navy and 80 from the Air Force. NDA has produced 27 Chiefs of Staff till date.
Five battalions are made from 18 squadrons in the NDA.

When you get selected for NDA, you are being selected for one of the three armed forces. Your total training period would be four years and you would be
getting a BA/BSc degree on completion of three years of training in NDA. The last one year would be in IMA/INA/AFA depending on what you had been selected for.


On completion of four years, you would be commissioned as an officer. You would be a Lieutenant in Army, Sub-Lieutenant in Navy or Flying Officer in the Air force. At the current rates (6th CPC), your gross salary at this stage would
be to the tune of about 60000 plus per month. Of course, you do get some stipend too during the last year of training.

Joining NDA is a glamorous dream of almost every youngster in India, but there are very few who get to live this dream.

NDA exam gives an early opportunity for getting into one of the most respectful and courageous professions in the country (Army, Air Force and Navy)

This article will guide every aspirant to get well equipped about the examination, in an easy and more detailed manner.

The entire selection process is divided into various stages which are,
1. Written examination
2. SSB (Service selection board)
3. Medical examination
4. Merit list (All India merit list)

Who conducts the Examination?
UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) conducts exam twice every year, NDA(I) in the month of April and NDA(II) any month between September to November.

Age Limit
Min age – 16.5 years
Max age – 19.5 years
* Above mentioned age during commencement of course
* Unmarried boys/girls are eligible

Education Qualifications

* Candidates who are appearing for class 12th examination can also apply

Exam Pattern

Marking scheme

If a candidate selects more than one option for a question, it will be treated as a wrong answer and 1/3rd of the marks allotted to the question will be deducted.

* Every candidate needs to get the pass marks for the maths paper if failed to get then as per NDA exam pattern candidate’s GA paper will not be evaluated also candidate need to mandatorily clear both the sectional cut off of paper1 and paper2 which varies between (25% to 30%) and also the final cut off.


Mathematics (Marks: 300)

The question paper on Mathematics will cover Algebra, Trigonometry, Geometry, Calculus, Probability and Statistics.

English syllabus (Marks: 200)

  • Grammar and usage
  • Comprehension and cohesion
  • Spotting of errors
  • Para Jumbling
  • Fill in the blanks
  • Synonyms and antonyms
  • Vocabulary
  • Cloze test
  • Sentence correction and improvement
  • Idioms and proverbs
  • Completion of Sentence and para

Part B: General Knowledge (Marks 400)
The question paper on General Knowledge will cover current affairs, questions from Physics, Chemistry, General Science, Social Studies, Geography, and Current Events.

Once the candidate clears the written examination, he would be getting an e-mail (candidates must mention same e-mail and mobile number for avoiding future confusion) which would guide him for his next stage and here starts the
stage II.

The written tests are conducted by UPSC only. For details visit

Stage II
Stage II focus on testing the overall personality of the candidate. Stage II can be further divided into Phase 1 and phase 2.

Candidates who clear phase 1 would be entering into phase 2 and will be staying in the SSB centre for the next 4 days and would be giving various tests which Include Psychology test, GTO and Personal interview. On the final day
results are announced selected candidate would remain there for medical examination and the ones who failed to make through would leave for their respective place.