Follow Us & App Download


AFCAT – Air Force Common Admission Test

  /    /  AFCAT – Air Force Common Admission Test

Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) is a National level exam conducted twice a year for the recruitment of candidates as Officers in IAF. The candidates are recruited for the Flying Branch and Permanent Commission (PC)/Short Service Commission (SSC) in Ground Duty (Technical and Non-Technical) posts. Graduate candidates between 20 to 26 years can apply for the AFCAT exam. The selection process of AFCAT comprises computer based exam, SSB interview and medical examination.

Candidates who qualify the CBT will be called for a 7 day SSB process at various AFSB centres.

Indian Air Force conducts the Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) for the flying branch and ground duty branches as Group A Gazetted Officers. These are the technical and non-technical branches. The test is held in two stages, written examination and AFSB (Air Force Selection Board) test. The written examination is a computer based test consisting of objective type questions from general awareness, verbal ability in english, numerical ability, reasoning, military aptitude test and a branch of engineering. The online exam also has a test for Ground Duty Technical Branch only known as the Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT).

AFCAT is an entry to two types of Commission:

  1. Permanent Commission (PC) for Men: Candidates joining as PC officers would continue to serve till the age of superannuation in their respective branches as per their rank.
  2. Short Service Commission (SSC) for Men & Women:

(i) The engagement period for Flying Branch (Men and Women) SSC Officers is fourteen years from the date of Commissioning (Non extendable).

(ii) The initial tenure for Ground Duty (Technical & Non-Technical) SSC Officers would be for a period of ten years. An extension of four years may be granted subject to service requirements, availability of vacancies, willingness, suitability and merit.